MSFS Feezes
NEW - FSFlyingSchool for Microsoft Flight Simulator!



FSFlyingSchool Forum
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )
        



MSFS Feezes Expand / Collapse
Author
Message
Posted Monday, January 11, 2021 6:16:05 AM
FSFlyingSchool Pilot

FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, January 13, 2021 9:17:26 AM
Posts: 5, Visits: 11
Purchased this yesterday and only managed one approach... all other times the sim freezes and using my pause toggle does nothing. When I close Instant Approach my pause toggle works and the sim works as normal, so something is amiss!
Post #14260
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 3:10:18 AM


FSFlyingSchool Developer

FSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool Developer

Group: Administrators
Last Login: Today @ 5:56:02 AM
Posts: 4,859, Visits: 8,633
Hi OnCourse:

Glad to help.

Good news - users are not reporting this problem so the issue is related to the configuration of the specific PC - and we can solve this.

It sounds like the results you are describing are those that will occur until the additional pause function is set up in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020, as described in FS Instant Approach's manual.

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 now has 2 pause modes and the one triggered by our FS Instant Approach is not the "active pause" mode.

The FS Instant Approach manual (page 2) explains...

Requires Key to END PAUSE MODE in Flight Simulator
IMPORTANT! When FS Instant Approach puts you on approach it will PAUSE Microsoft Flight Simulator
2020. You must define a key or button in Flight Simulator to END PAUSE MODE so that you can end it
and fly the approach. Defining this key or button can be done very simply at the Controls screen of
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020.
Note that this is NOT the “ACTIVE PAUSE”. This is “Miscellaneous – Set Pause OFF”.


That's it! Have a great week of flights!



Jeff Preston ('Squadron Leader') - FSFlyingSchool Publisher & Lead Developer

If you wish to unsubscribe simply reply to email with the word UNSUBSCRIBE in the SUBJECT line.


FSFlyingSchool 2020 for X-Plane 11 and 10
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 Prepar3D v 4
FS Instant Approach 2020 for X-Plane 11 (Windows)
FS Instant Approach 2019 for X-Plane 11 (Mac)
FS Instant Approach PRO for FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FS Instant Help for FSX, FS2004


Winner of 5 consecutive PC Pilot Magazine 'Classic Product' Awards

Fly like the Pros with X-Plane, Flight Simulator and Prepar3D!
Post #14263
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 3:35:50 AM
FSFlyingSchool Pilot

FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, January 13, 2021 9:17:26 AM
Posts: 5, Visits: 11
Thank you for your reply, but as I said im my opening post that does not work I already have keys setup to turn that pause mode on/off... I use P to turn it on and Ctrl+P to turn it off. It's NOT the Active Pause.

Post #14264
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 3:51:22 AM


FSFlyingSchool Developer

FSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool Developer

Group: Administrators
Last Login: Today @ 5:56:02 AM
Posts: 4,859, Visits: 8,633
Hi OnCourse:

As you can imagine, in order to resolve issues as quickly as possible, I have to be as technically clear as I can and as your original post said "my pause toggle" I had to state the procedure to use, so we can be sure it is being used.

At what exact point does "the sim freeze" ?

What was done immediately before this occurs?

Which screen were you in in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020?

At what geographical location was the aircraft?

What runway was the FS Instant Approach approach at?

Is that runway an add-on?

Please let me know.


Jeff Preston ('Squadron Leader') - FSFlyingSchool Publisher & Lead Developer

If you wish to unsubscribe simply reply to email with the word UNSUBSCRIBE in the SUBJECT line.


FSFlyingSchool 2020 for X-Plane 11 and 10
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 Prepar3D v 4
FS Instant Approach 2020 for X-Plane 11 (Windows)
FS Instant Approach 2019 for X-Plane 11 (Mac)
FS Instant Approach PRO for FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FS Instant Help for FSX, FS2004


Winner of 5 consecutive PC Pilot Magazine 'Classic Product' Awards

Fly like the Pros with X-Plane, Flight Simulator and Prepar3D!
Post #14265
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 5:04:54 AM
FSFlyingSchool Pilot

FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, January 13, 2021 9:17:26 AM
Posts: 5, Visits: 11
At what exact point does "the sim freeze" ?

It seems to be at the point the scenery has been refreshed and I can see the target airport

What was done immediately before this occurs?

Selected 'Connect' in FS Instant Approach

Which screen were you in in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020?

Cockpit

At what geographical location was the aircraft?

I've tried various but the last one I was at KLAX and entered EGLL into Instant Approach.

What runway was the FS Instant Approach approach at?

9L

Is that runway an add-on?

No, I have no addon airports, this is a fresh installation of FS2020 on a new PC
Post #14266
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 5:32:34 AM


FSFlyingSchool Developer

FSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool Developer

Group: Administrators
Last Login: Today @ 5:56:02 AM
Posts: 4,859, Visits: 8,633
Hi OnCourse:

The time taken to load the scenery can vary a great deal depending on a number of factors including how Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 is configured - can you please do some approaches which are at different runways at the airport the aircraft is already at so we can see if this is a timing issue?


Jeff Preston ('Squadron Leader') - FSFlyingSchool Publisher & Lead Developer

If you wish to unsubscribe simply reply to email with the word UNSUBSCRIBE in the SUBJECT line.


FSFlyingSchool 2020 for X-Plane 11 and 10
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 Prepar3D v 4
FS Instant Approach 2020 for X-Plane 11 (Windows)
FS Instant Approach 2019 for X-Plane 11 (Mac)
FS Instant Approach PRO for FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FS Instant Help for FSX, FS2004


Winner of 5 consecutive PC Pilot Magazine 'Classic Product' Awards

Fly like the Pros with X-Plane, Flight Simulator and Prepar3D!
Post #14267
Posted Tuesday, January 12, 2021 7:09:59 AM
FSFlyingSchool Pilot

FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, January 13, 2021 9:17:26 AM
Posts: 5, Visits: 11
Okay, I think I may have a recreate for you.

The first time I tried today everything works as it should, but after landing I went back into Instant Approach and changed the approach airport to another on without 'disconnecting'. At that point the new approach scenery starts to update and looks like it's complete, but the pause off key will not work at all.

Hope that helps
Post #14268
Posted Wednesday, January 13, 2021 7:14:47 AM


FSFlyingSchool Developer

FSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool Developer

Group: Administrators
Last Login: Today @ 5:56:02 AM
Posts: 4,859, Visits: 8,633
Hi OnCourse:

We've done testing here to reproduce this and indications so far are that the behaviour may depend on which screens the pilot has visited and which functions have been used during a session of FS Instant Approach.

When Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 has had this inability to exit pause, have you, while CONNECTED to FS Instant Approach:

Used MSFS 'Travel To' teleporting?
Used MSFS 'Active Pause'?
'Reset'/'Restart' the flight inside MSFS?
Left the flight by returning to the main menu?
Changed the airplane you are in?
Used any developer tools?

Please let me know.


Jeff Preston ('Squadron Leader') - FSFlyingSchool Publisher & Lead Developer

If you wish to unsubscribe simply reply to email with the word UNSUBSCRIBE in the SUBJECT line.


FSFlyingSchool 2020 for X-Plane 11 and 10
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 Prepar3D v 4
FS Instant Approach 2020 for X-Plane 11 (Windows)
FS Instant Approach 2019 for X-Plane 11 (Mac)
FS Instant Approach PRO for FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FS Instant Help for FSX, FS2004


Winner of 5 consecutive PC Pilot Magazine 'Classic Product' Awards

Fly like the Pros with X-Plane, Flight Simulator and Prepar3D!
Post #14271
Posted Wednesday, January 13, 2021 9:18:43 AM
FSFlyingSchool Pilot

FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot FSFlyingSchool Pilot

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, January 13, 2021 9:17:26 AM
Posts: 5, Visits: 11
Hi Jeff

The only one I may have used would have been Active Pause... I will do some more testing this evening and let you know what happens
Post #14273
Posted Thursday, January 14, 2021 6:55:22 AM


FSFlyingSchool Developer

FSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool DeveloperFSFlyingSchool Developer

Group: Administrators
Last Login: Today @ 5:56:02 AM
Posts: 4,859, Visits: 8,633
Hi OnCourse:

Excellent - many thanks.

It is puzzling as folks are not reporting this issue in general - so we can only imagine that there is a certain combination of actions that produces this pickle.


Jeff Preston ('Squadron Leader') - FSFlyingSchool Publisher & Lead Developer

If you wish to unsubscribe simply reply to email with the word UNSUBSCRIBE in the SUBJECT line.


FSFlyingSchool 2020 for X-Plane 11 and 10
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FSFlyingSchool PRO 2019 Prepar3D v 4
FS Instant Approach 2020 for X-Plane 11 (Windows)
FS Instant Approach 2019 for X-Plane 11 (Mac)
FS Instant Approach PRO for FSX, FSX-SE, FS2004
FS Instant Help for FSX, FS2004


Winner of 5 consecutive PC Pilot Magazine 'Classic Product' Awards

Fly like the Pros with X-Plane, Flight Simulator and Prepar3D!
Post #14274
« Prev Topic | Next Topic »


All times are GMT -8:00, Time now is 8:21pm

Powered By InstantForum.NET v4.1.4 © 2021
Execution: 0.047. 12 queries. Compression Disabled.